superman.nuMary Immaculate of Lourdes NewtonHolliston School Committeefacebook    
  •   forum   •   COUNTDOWN TO MIRACLE MONDAY: "GENERAL DESTRUCTION!" •   fortress   •  
Superman Through the Ages! Forum
News: Superman Through the Ages! now located at theAges.superman.nu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 27, 2024, 12:37:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Old Newbie.... Confused  (Read 5703 times)
sandmountainslim
Superman's Pal

« on: April 08, 2006, 09:04:33 PM »

Hello All,
I am a newbie around these parts but was a regular reader of all Superman titles from the late seventies until I stopped altogether right after Clark and Lois's wedding in the 90's. I have recently decided to give the Super Titles another chance starting with Superman #650 and will say that I AM impressed, I for one believe that it is a good thing to see Adventures of Superman become the Superman title once again and I feel that the only reason that it lost its title to begin with was because of the ego of John Byrne, don't get me wrong I loved MOS and what he did with the character, loved his stories but I always felt the original book recieved the short end of the stick when the new Superman #1 came out. I am also told that the new All Star Superman series features the Silver Age Supes? Perhaps I have been away for too long because it is a bit confusing to me right now (especially the fact than the second series is dead and the All Star Supes)  Sorry if I said alot for a first post. Look forward to meeting all here.
William Potter
RedSunOfKrypton
Last Son of Krypton

« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2006, 10:07:14 PM »

All Star Superman all the way. I'm not a big fan of Byrne, though I do like Superman's bio aura. Still if you want a taste of the real classic Superman done right in this modern world, get All Star.