superman.nuMary Immaculate of Lourdes NewtonHolliston School Committeefacebook    
  •   forum   •   COUNTDOWN TO MIRACLE MONDAY: "THE SPECIAL REPORT!" •   fortress   •  
Superman Through the Ages! Forum
News: Superman Through the Ages! now located at theAges.superman.nu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 02:01:04 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What was wrong with the Bronze Age Superman?  (Read 13445 times)
Doctor Will Magnus
Jimmy Olsen Fan Club

« on: September 19, 2006, 03:18:47 AM »

Hello one and all,

I'm a college student and a big Superman fan.  I was first introduced to comics by my father, who read me a Swan/Shooter Legion story when I was very young, and I've been hooked ever since.  After sampling just about every era and medium that Superman has to offer, I've discovered that the stories that (to me) contain the most adventure, character, and sci-fi fun seem to be the Maggin/Bates/Schwartz/Swan Superman in the late '70s and '80s.  Yet, it seems that this Superman gets the most flack for being "too-powerful", "too inhuman", "too fantastic", and the reason for the sales slide that culiminated with Byrne's reboot in 1986.  
After some time lurking here, it seems that this board is probably the best one to ask this question (as you all seem to have a significant knowledge of just about every Superman incarnation).   With all of the positive reaction to the VERY Silver/Bronze Age All-Star Superman, I can't figure out why such an awesome character was so unpopular and thusly discarded!   So I ask of anyone who has an opinion, what was wrong with the Bronze Age Superman? Thanks in advance.

PS: My undying thanks go to Great Rao for setting up this great site!  Always a good place to visit.
MatterEaterLad
Council of Wisdom

Silver Age Surfer

« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2006, 03:42:27 AM »